The Flaming Stars – Named and Shamed (Signed)


The Flaming Stars seventh studio disc, Named and Shamed.


Signed by Max Decharne

Out of stock

Product Description

A decade after they first fell from the sky, the U.K. quintet the Flaming Stars continue to shine and stun on their seventh studio disc, Named and Shamed. Sounding like Lloyd Cole fronting the Bad Seeds, writer/vocalist Max Decharne steers the versatile group through a set that is at times loud and riotous (“Where the Beautiful People Go”), soft and brooding (“She’s Gone”), or ├╝ber-cool and jazzy (the piano and finger snaps of “The Marabou Shuffle”). Rarely disappointing, the title cut embraces flamenco while “Spilled Your Paint” barks and bites like vintage Mark E. Smith. Tack on the fact that this disc was completed in just over eight days, and Named and Shamed can’t help but qualify as brilliant. ~ John D. Luerssen

Personnel: Max Decharne (vocals, piano, celesta, organ, keyboards, maracas, hand claps); Huck Whitney (guitar, acoustic guitar, hand claps, percussion); Mark Hosking (guitar, hand claps); Joe Whitney (strings, drums, washboard, hand claps).